skip navigation

2009's win the AYHL Playoff Championship

By WLC Staff, 02/27/23, 6:00PM EST


The Washington Little Capitals 2009 squad won the 2023 AYHL Playoff Championship in Philadelphia with a 5-1 win against Philadelphia Little Flyers. This win is the first AYHL Championship for the 2009 squad.

This weekend was a strong showing of hard work and contributions from the entire lineup. The 09 Caps won their first game 5-4 in an overtime thriller against the top-seed NJ Colonials and won their second in a comeback win against a strong Jr Flyers team 6-3. After dropping their final round robin game to the Little Flyers 7-1, the 09 Caps regrouped with a dominant 5-1 victory against the Little Flyers on championship Monday. 


All American Forward: Rocco Olek 

All American Defenseman: Donovan Ramos 

Great American Goalie: Conner Sestak 


“The boys worked hard all season to be ready for big moments like this. We batted through some adversity by blowing a lead in game 1 and having to battle back in game 2, but the group stayed calm and confident throughout the tournament and played their best hockey when it mattered most," said Head Coach Brad Kostrzebski. "I couldn’t be more proud of how our team played under pressure and they deserve all the credit in the world for their hard work this season."


Congratulations to our WLC 2009 Team: Tyler Hoyt, Ben Morrison, Thompson Grennan, Rocco Olek, Dean Marulli, Cooper Roberts, Ryan Castro-Ribot, Evan Batbold, Mike Connors, Pierce Williams, Donovan Ramos, Rahmi Moazzez, Andrei Stanislavovich, William Abrantes, Brooks Lytle, Axel Schoenborg, Gavin Werntz, Conner Sestak, HC Brad Kostrzebski, AC Dano Silvers, and Manager Jodie Ramos